All images © Bob Atkins

5.jpg

This website is hosted by:
Host Unlimited Domains on 1 Account

4.jpg

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Web www.bobatkins.com
*
+  The Canon EOS and Photography Forums
|-+  Photography Forums
| |-+  The Canon EOS Forum
| | |-+  Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer  (Read 1848 times)  bookmark this topic!
Fotobuff
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« on: May 30, 2013, 11:37:27 PM »

Hello Everyone!

This is my first post. I am a newbie and just starting out with my EOS 600D camera. I had installed the following two softwares from Canon on my laptop: 1. Digital Photo Professional and 2. EOS Utility. I am facing problems in transferring images from the camera to the computer. I think the problem arises mainly because I am unable to properly identify the "monitored" folder and the "destination" folder. Since the images are stored initially in the camera, which is the monitored folder ? Also, sometimes the destination folder is automatically created and sometimes it isn't. On some occasions, I have actually been successful in transferring images. Other times, I am not able to do it. So the problem comes off and on.

Can someone help Huh
Logged
KeithB
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 525


Re: Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2013, 07:42:01 AM »

It should be automatic.

What kind of computer do you have? Did you follow the EOS utility quick start guide?
Logged
Fotobuff
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


Re: Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2013, 08:07:31 AM »

I use a laptop with the Windows XP SP3 system. Would you like to know anything else. No, I haven't tried the Quick Start Guide of EOS Utility.

Logged
klindup
Senior Member
****
Posts: 143


Re: Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2013, 12:39:26 AM »

I always connect my camera to the computer using a USB cable.  I have had a variety of problems in the past when the EOS Utility would not start because it was waiting for the camera to come alive.  One time it was solved by half pressing the shutter button.  Now I always check that the camera is not in sleep mode.  Another time it was a faulty cable.  I guess it is a remote possibility that you given an old version of the software.  A bit unlikely but perhaps worth checking that you have the latest version of the software by visiting the Canon web site.  I have also found that it can take a little time for the utility to load and for communication with the camera to be established.  If I try to start the utility before a link is established the Utility will not work. 

Hope this helps.
Ken
Logged
Bob Atkins
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1205


Re: Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2013, 06:52:52 PM »

Can't really help with the EOS Utility because I never use it. I always transfer images by removing the card from the camera and putting it in a card reader attached to the PC. It's more reliable and (with the right card reader) a lot faster than transferring from the camera via USB.

They are also very cheap! See for example:

Sandisk MicroMate SD / SDHC Memory Card Reader
Logged
deemery
Junior Member
**
Posts: 19


Re: Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2013, 10:55:48 AM »

Can't really help with the EOS Utility because I never use it. I always transfer images by removing the card from the camera and putting it in a card reader attached to the PC. It's more reliable and (with the right card reader) a lot faster than transferring from the camera via USB.

They are also very cheap! See for example:

Sandisk MicroMate SD / SDHC Memory Card Reader
And it doesn't drain the camera batteries.

dave
Logged
Fotobuff
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


Re: Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2013, 11:13:05 AM »

Thanks, everyone, for trying to solve my problem. Firstly, on going through the manual supplied for the EOS Utility, it seems to be optimised for Windows Vista ! I bought my camera from Amazon in October, 2012, while on a visit to the USA. I don't know if there is a more recent version of the software. As suggested, I will try the Canon website for information.

Bob's suggestion gets rid of the problem. However, I have had very bad experience with unbranded card readers. I lost images from a card because of the card reader. Perhaps the Sandisk one will be ok. I will try to get one.

Strangely enough, today the EOS Utility worked quite well. It seems to be very temperamental.

Anyhow, I think that now I know how to deal with the problem. Thanks, guys, for rallying round. Somehow, I feel very welcome and a part of the community already.

 Smiley
Logged
Bob Atkins
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1205


Re: Problems With Transferring Images from EOS600D to the Computer
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2013, 09:53:31 PM »

I have a bunch of card readers, including some "no-name" generic units from China that I've collected over the years. However even those have never damaged a card. I guess you were unlucky.

However with the name brand units so cheap, there's really no reason to shop from China on eBay anymore. I have a Sandisk which only does CF cards (but is very fast) and a Transcend which only does SD/SDHC/SDXC but which works perfectly.

This is probably the "top of the line" unit if you want CF and SD capability. It's also USB 3.0 for the fastest possible transfer speed (assuming your PC supports it). Even with these specs, it's under $40.

Lexar Professional USB 3.0 Dual-Slot Reader
Logged
Pages: [1]    
Print
« previous next »
Jump to: