All images © Bob Atkins

14.jpg

This website is hosted by:
Host Unlimited Domains on 1 Account

1.jpg

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Web www.bobatkins.com
*
+  The Canon EOS and Photography Forums
|-+  Photography Forums
| |-+  Technical Questions on Photography and Optics
| | |-+  IS verus battery level
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: IS verus battery level  (Read 591 times)  bookmark this topic!
Frank Kolwicz
Senior Member
****
Posts: 108


IS verus battery level
« on: September 28, 2013, 12:40:29 PM »

I have some non-Canon batteries that don't have the chip to talk to the camera/lens: is it possible that when a battery is at a low level there might not be enough power to run the image stabilizer properly? This assumes, of course, that the Canon batteries will shut off, if the power is below par for IS. This is with an EF600/4 LIS lens.
Logged
Bob Atkins
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


Re: IS verus battery level
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2013, 01:13:02 PM »

It's possible but it's probably unlikely. I'm sure the camera monitors battery voltage and shuts off when it's too low for the camera to safely operate. I don't know what the current draw of the IS system is and if it's enough to significantly drop the battery voltage. I doubt there is a condition where the camera will still operate if the battery voltage is too low to run the IS system.

I think the reason that some 3rd party batteries don't display a battery status on the LCD display is that they lack the built in data storage that the Canon batteries have and so can't store battery charge level data. However the camera does still look at the battery voltage I think, otherwise the battery would drain fully and that's NOT something you want.

That being said, anything is possible. Canon don't give out info on how they monitor battery state of charge and what criteria they use for shutting down the camera. They certainly don't run the battery all the way down because of the risk of corrupting data if it fails during a memory write cycle.

To be 100% safe, maybe get some 3rd party batteries with chips (assuming you don't want to spend the $60 or so for a genuine Canon battery).
Logged
Frank Kolwicz
Senior Member
****
Posts: 108


Re: IS verus battery level
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2013, 01:28:30 PM »

Sorry for sitting on this one for a while.

If the camera can monitor the battery level with 3rd party, non-chipped batteries, what is the purpose of the chip? Just to add that little bit of hassle to the start-up sequence when you use a non-Canon product?

I thought that the chip must do something more sophisticated than that, although thinking about Espon's chipped carts, maybe it is just a marketing strategy to sell batteries, like Epson's ink.
Logged
Bob Atkins
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


Re: IS verus battery level
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2013, 05:44:33 PM »

The chip stores information on battery condition. It also contains a battery ID number I think. The charger can put info in there about how well it's charging etc.

The chip isn't needed for the camera to actually measure the battery voltage of course, so the camera can shut down safely if the battery voltage gets below a safe point.
Logged
KeithB
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 516


Re: IS verus battery level
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2013, 09:12:35 AM »

Generally the chips are also there to monitor charging and prevent teh battery from overheating or exploding (!) if a short develops in a cell. My wife's Mac just developed a battery problem where it got really hot, and the computer is signalling a warning to replace the battery.

She panicked and ran out and bought a new Air...
Logged
Johnny
Full Member
***
Posts: 69


Re: IS verus battery level
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2013, 02:15:30 PM »

She panicked and ran out and bought a new Air...

Women are obviously smarter than most men...!  Wink
Logged
Pages: [1]    
Print
« previous next »
Jump to: