All images © Bob Atkins

12.jpg

This website is hosted by:
Host Unlimited Domains on 1 Account

12.jpg

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Web www.bobatkins.com
*
+  The Canon EOS and Photography Forums
|-+  Photography Forums
| |-+  The Canon EOS Forum
| | |-+  Focus Priority or Trap Focus - 30D
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Focus Priority or Trap Focus - 30D  (Read 5503 times)  bookmark this topic!
markkraz
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


Focus Priority or Trap Focus - 30D
« on: September 17, 2008, 05:23:49 PM »

I shoot with a 30D and a variety of lenses and I just recently heard of "Trap Focus" and "Focus Priority" which sounds really great for, say, a track race.   If I'm on the sidelines, I can set lane 4 in focus over a specific hurdle and not shoot until the runner is in focus right where I want him (within reason since I know the f stop will allow for a range of focus). 

I've heard explicitly that Nikons have this and I'd like to believe that Canons do as well.  Anyone know how to make it work on a 30D?  Thanks!
Logged
Bob Atkins
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1184


Re: Focus Priority or Trap Focus - 30D
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2008, 05:53:31 PM »

As far as I know no EOS camera has "trap focus", which is a mode where you are in manual focus mode, press the shutter and the camera waits until something is in focus before it makes the exposure.

"Focus Priority" just means that the camera won't take a picture if it can't focus on something in autofocus mode. "Release Priority" means that the camera takes a picture when the shutter is released, even if it can't get focus on anything.
Logged
markkraz
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


Re: Focus Priority or Trap Focus - 30D
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2008, 06:05:09 PM »

Thanks for the help!

So "Focus Priority" won't work in manual focus mode?  It sounds like it would act in a very similar way to "trap focus" if it does.
Logged
Pages: [1]    
Print
« previous next »
Jump to: