All images © Bob Atkins

5.jpg

This website is hosted by:
Host Unlimited Domains on 1 Account

8.jpg

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Web www.bobatkins.com
*
+  The Canon EOS and Photography Forums
|-+  Photography Forums
| |-+  The Canon EOS Forum
| | |-+  Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?  (Read 12568 times)  bookmark this topic!
Johnny
Full Member
***
Posts: 71


Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« on: March 23, 2012, 11:09:28 AM »

Has anyone tried the new ImageBrowser 1.0.1 and actually got it to work?

It seems like this program will be a replacement for the older ZoomBrowser. I thought I would use it for sharing, but ran into problems. I am obviously not the only one. I emailed our good friend Chuck but this is not his department, so he referred me to Helpdesk. I have no idea where to find it and if it is for USA customers only.

Bob, Keith...have you tried it? UI is similar to Lightroom, very nice and it has some nice sharing functions.

Installation is a bit different from other Canon programs. After downloading the software you have to connect the camera to the computer for verification, Silverlight is downloaded and installed.

The problem: I can not see any of the images. When I open the program I see all the folders and menues, but not the images. There is a short helpfile telling me how to clear the database but it did not help.

So, if anyone will give it a try and get it working please let me know.
Logged
KeithB
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 519


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2012, 11:37:31 AM »

I haven't tried it. I usually just use iPhoto on a Mac.
Logged
Johnny
Full Member
***
Posts: 71


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2012, 02:26:48 PM »

Maybe some sort of indexing is going on..? CPU usage is high. Can not see any image file, only folders. I think this program must have some serious flaws? I have never had problems with software from Canon earlier.
Logged
Johnny
Full Member
***
Posts: 71


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2012, 03:22:07 PM »

Well, I will leave it up to Canon to figure it out. It is simply not working.
Logged
Bob Atkins
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1194


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2012, 03:54:29 PM »

I'll give it a try later. I downloaded it but I have to dig out the USB cable for the camera. Normally I never use it!
Logged
Bob Atkins
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1194


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2012, 10:37:22 PM »

Works fine for me.

I plugged in my 40D, ran the installation (which took some time, though it wasn't obvious the PC was actually doing anything). There were folders and the images in the folders appear as thumbnails across the bottom of the screen. I could click on one and do simple editing.

It's probably a useful application for "point and shoot" applications (even if you're using a DSLR). It does create a sort of database of images and you can print the images and do some very basic editing, but I can't ever see myself using it. It also seems to have some basic movie editing ability, but again I have enough video editing programs that I can't see any use for this one.

If you had a PC with no image editing software and no video editing software (not likely since just about all PCs amd Macs come with some built in) then Imagebrowser EX might be useful I guess.

It's a basic consumer "one stop" tool to do a bit of everything, but everything can probably be done better if you have some experience with external image editors and video editors.
Logged
Johnny
Full Member
***
Posts: 71


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2012, 02:14:47 PM »

Ok. Thank you, Bob. I have no idea to why it does not work. Will remove everything from the computer.
Logged
Rodney Farke
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2012, 03:04:55 PM »

I installed it in 2 different  computers, both Windows XP, and couldn't get it to work in either one.
Logged
Bob Atkins
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1194


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2012, 05:01:53 PM »

When you say you can't get it to work, what happens when you try? Does the program crash, does it load OK but fail to connect to an attached camera? If so what camera?

I have v1.0.1.32 on my XP machine at the moment and it seems to be fine. I don't use it, but I just opened it to test it and there seems to be no problem. It is telling me that there is a newer version available but I haven't tried downloading that one yet.
Logged
Johnny
Full Member
***
Posts: 71


Re: Has anyone got the new ImageBrowser EX 1.0.1 to work?
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2012, 02:52:57 AM »

I gave up on IB EX several months ago. After installation is finished I can open the program but then nothing happens. I do not see any pictures and when I shut down the program freezes and force me to terminate the process. I emailed Chuck Westfall but he reffered me to Canon Help Desk. Over at POTN others are having the same problem. I spent way to much time to get it to work and will wait for the next release.
Logged
Pages: [1]    
Print
« previous next »
Jump to: